chamber of commerce

Locals honored for working to end domestic abuse
Wednesday, October 17, 2001

AUGUSTA - State Representative Sharon Libby Jones (D-Greenville) and Glenna and Stephen Dean of Brownville will be honored on Friday October 19th, from 2:00 PM – 3:30 PM, at a Blaine House Tea in Augusta for their life long work to end domestic abuse in Maine.

Every year during Domestic Violence Awareness Month, the Maine Coalition to End Domestic Violence hold a tea at the Blaine House in Augusta, at which projects and Coalition staff honor community members who have contributed to the effort to end domestic abuse in Maine. In the past, the honorees have included volunteers, survivors, police offices, teens who work with their peers, legislators and local business people. Each project may pick two people to honor.

his year, the Tea will be co-hosted by First Lady of Maine, Mary Herman and Commissioner Mike Kelly of the department of Public Safety.

WomanCare, in Dover Foxcroft, nominated Representative Libby Jones to receive this award, in recognition of her efforts as a legislator to end domestic abuse.

“I am very honored to have been nominated by WomanCare for this award” said Representative Libby Jones. “The work that they do, along with every other organization in our state to combat this plague, is so vital and needed. I pledge to continue my efforts both as a volunteer and as a legislator to help them in this fight. I, for one, will not rest until substantial improvements have been made and until every victim of abuse, female or male, will have the resources they need to escape from an abusive relationship.”

Glenna and Stephen Dean are members of the Milo/Brownville Neighbors Community Task Force. They are trained WomanCare volunteers and are essential to the organization. Their work ranges from organizing newsletter mailings to facilitating volunteer training. They are an essential part of the organization.

Representative Sharon Libby Jones serves on the Joint Standing Committee on Appropriations and Financial Affairs. She represents House District 111 – Abbot, Beaver Cove, Bowerbank, Brownville, Greenville, Guilford, Monson, Sebec, Shirley, Wellington, Willimantic, and Kingsbury Plantation, plus unorganized territories including Barnard, Lily Bay, Harfords Point, Williamsburg, Blanchard and Elliottsville Townships.

Copyright © 2001 SOUTHERN PISCATAQUIS COUNTY CHAMBER OF COMMERCE All Rights Reserved~ Updated: November 2001